Episode 12: The Emergency Herbalist

(For a better viewing experience click on the HQ button once the video starts.  Everything is more fun in full-screen mode…)


[Thanks much to anonymous for clicking this Donate button this week.  One step closer to getting a better camera that’ll make this project a whole lot easier (and prettier).]

Well, I suppose I don’t have a whole lot to say about this one.  I’m afraid I don’t remember where I got the idea for this episode.  Must’ve been a few months ago, and I jotted down a few ideas in my “Sketch ideas” brainstorm document.  I’d completely forgotten about it, but the concept made me chuckle when I stumbled across it the other day, and it seemed like it might be fun.  Which it was.

I had a tough time getting started on this one (due primarily to the state of flux that my life has been in).  Sometimes you just have to sit yourself down and take little baby-steps in order to get any kind of momentum going.  I sat myself down on my bed, and told myself I wouldn’t move until I came up with this character’s voice.  Once I had that, I decided to script it, which was pretty much essential considering the voice-overs I was going to be working with, but I ended up making a lot of fun discoveries just through the writing (which I usually do, but I tend to forget that).

My loyalest of viewers will have caught the cameo from my very first character, Mr. Brian Baumleiber.  This seemed like as good an excuse as any to bring him back, and this, too, made me happy.  Five points to anyone who caught it (you’re on the honor system).

In other news, life is pretty good.  I’m enjoying being in California, but it still almost doesn’t seem real.  I mean, less than one week ago I was sitting behind my desk at my job in NY.  A few days before that, as far as I knew, that might’ve become a permanent gig.  Now, suddenly, here I am, 3,000 miles away, and already neck-deep in rehearsals for play (that I’m really excited about, by the way), and several other projects.

I guess it just goes to show, the world is as strange a place as you want it to be.

Cheers,

Brent 6.19.09  3.36am

~ by 50in50 on June 19, 2009.

4 Responses to “Episode 12: The Emergency Herbalist”

  1. Five points!

  2. 5 points for me! =D

  3. 1. Congrats on the move! Best of luck.

    2. So I guess you’re out for the improv practice group

    3. Did you almost start cracking up after the 2nd caller?

    4. 5 Points toward my No-Prize.

  4. Great cameo by Brian Baumleiber (B-Squared)!!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

