Episode 16: The Full Body X Workout (in under 60 seconds)

(For a better viewing experience click on the HQ button once the video starts.  Everything is more fun in full-screen mode…)


[Thanks to my brother Matt for taking a break from his med-school applications to man the camera.  You’ll be a doctor of cinema before I’m done with you.  And thank you again to Kevin MacLeod for the royalty free music http://incompetech.com ]

The day after I landed in CA to do this play, my director sat down with me and told me I needed to get into the best shape of my life.  Right about then was when I was first hearing about this workout program called P90X, so I figured, what the hell (I just started it last week, and it’s kicking my arse).  This character, Anthony Ross, is a combination of Tony Horton (of P90X fame), and of so many dudes out there on YouTube who love to show off their super awesome workouts.  These guys are generally shooting in their living rooms, with bad lighting, and are generally pretty entertaining, but not for the reasons they’d hoped.  So this guy is a hybrid of those dudes.

I had a scary moment while shooting this.  I knew this was a one-take deal because, well, I can pretty much only do that once.  I got through all the push-ups and abs, and then I screwed up the take (I didn’t land that little kip-up).  I thought I was completely boned, but I was so mad at myself that when we started shooting again (immediately after) I had enough adrenaline going, and I made it through.  Good thing, too, because I left the shooting of this video until the 11th hour.

The good news is that I’ve already got next week’s episode filmed.  The bad news is that it’s documentary style (like Briam Baumlieber and Brett Dempsey Isn’t Drunk, etc.), which is a style I really like, but they’re brutal to edit.  Well, at least I’ve got a week.

In other news: CHECK OUT THIS INTERVIEW I did for The Apiary about 50in50.  It was written by the very funny Ms. Carolyn Castiglia.  If you don’t know her work, you should correct that.

See you next week,

BR  7..17.09  3.36am

~ by 50in50 on July 17, 2009.

One Response to “Episode 16: The Full Body X Workout (in under 60 seconds)”

  1. there are German TV series of Babylon5, Law and Order and many more and every day there are more, of course, all for free

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

