Week 23: Dale Tining’s Regimen

(For a better viewing experience click on the HQ button once the video starts.  Everything is more fun in full-screen mode…)

[First off, giant thanks once again goes to my brother Matt for manning the camera for a good portion of these shots.  Couldn’t have done it without you, dude.]

I’m going to tell you the truth: I feel just a little bit chewed up and spat out right now.  That’s because I was just bitten by a large predatory cat… a Snow Leopard.  I’ll try to keep this tirade short, but here’s the story.  I upgraded my operating system to Snow Leopard, after a friend tested it out with FinalCut and said it seemed to be working fine.  So I made it all the way through the edit for this episode, and I go to export it, and… nada.  Nothing doing.  “Codec error.”  That was the only information I was able to obtain about what was going wrong (which is annoyingly typical of Apple).  I think it’s something wrong with my h.264 codec (getting nerdy now), but I wasn’t able to find anyone else who was having this problem in the forums.  So, at 2:30am I began to try to teach myself how to use Compressor.  I’d never used it before, and the editors I’d learned from never used it (at least when I was around) because it’s so damn complicated.  There’s a silver-lining to this stormy story, though: I actually did it!  I somehow managed to figure out how to use Compressor, while falling asleep, and with no instructions.  In case you can’t tell, I’m fairly proud of myself for that.  Not only that, I think the ratio is now, finally correct 1 to 1.  I think I’ve been stretching my videos vertically this whole time and I didn’t even know it.  Oops?  I guess that’s how it goes when you’re self-taught.

As for my feelings on the rest of the episode… well… I have an ongoing discussion with my friend Bay who feels that I use “disclaimers” too much in these blog entries, whereas I feel like I’m just being honest about my process and how I feel about the work.  If you, dear readers, have an opinion on that, one way or the other, I’d love it if you’d weigh in.  In any case, right now I’m exhausted and am too close to it to fairly judge it, so I’m just not going to.  Maybe I will later this week.  Or maybe not.

Briefly, this episode came from a couple of things.  I’ve been feeling spread really thin lately, and it was suggested to me that I make a schedule for myself.  That’s probably a good idea, actually, but I thought it’d be fun to explore a VERY extreme version of that.  Really, though, this character was born out of the idea of someone who buys a calendar, writes R’s and L’s on alternating days to remind him which side to tuck his wang so it will hang straight.  I’m not sure where that idea came from, but I enjoy it.  So, I started at that angled and worked outwards from there.

Bedtime for me.  So wrecked.  I finally got in some real surfing in on Wednesday.  Was out for hours, and it was the first time I successfully rode a shortboard.  I’m still really stoked about that.

Folks in the Bay Area, you’ve got two more weekends to see The Farm (and we’re doing a show on Monday this week, as well).

Much love,

B.  4.19am  9.4.09

~ by 50in50 on September 4, 2009.

3 Responses to “Week 23: Dale Tining’s Regimen”

  1. the last three episodes have been three of my favourite.
    all strong and funny, one after the other.
    and where the hell is that pin ball museum?

  2. Is this guy related to the 60 second workout dude? Just imagine if two of your children grew up into them.

  3. Short boards are my bane. I’ve got a 6 footer that laughs at me when I pass by in the garage. Also, I really would hate to be Dale Tining. His life is horrendous, and I am thankful I’m not that OCD. Love how the whole idea came from that ridiculous calendar, too.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

