Week 30: Stories From Home

[if you have the bandwidth, watch in HD (720p), and go full-screen]

I’m not really going to say anything about this one.  Just that I hope you like it.

If you have questions, leave them in the comments.  I might just answer them… maybe.

Oh yeah, and this is EPISODE THIRTY, which means I’m officially 3/5 of my way through this beast of a project!  Hooray for arbitrary landmarks!!

Enjoy the Olympics, and check back for another new one next week!

Cheers,

Brent  2.18.10  9.22pm

~ by 50in50 on February 18, 2010.

2 Responses to “Week 30: Stories From Home”

  1. Brent, I’m curious about this one … I’m assuming this is a made-up language? It sounds phonetically slavic but not quite like any slavic language I’ve ever heard. I’ve always been interested in how constructed languages get their phonetic and rhythmic inventory – how does the language designer decide what they want it to sound like, feel on the tongue, ebb & flow, & even the syntactic structure. I never studied conlangs as a linguist but it seems like there’s a lot of fun to be had there. Maybe if I were a bigger trekkie I would have gotten into it.

    So, what did you do? Did you hire a personal linguist or draw from other languages you were familiar with? Did you write an English version of the script or just make up the sentiment as you went along?

    If this is a legitimate slavic langauge, my apologies & it is very pretty.

  2. That was English. I’d just come from the dentist.

    I kid, I kid.

    Great questions. Yes, you are correct that the language was made up, and it certainly does sound Eastern European. I’ve been studying Russian accents lately, and when I got out there, and the snow was blowing in my face, it just seemed fitting. I wish I had my own personal linguist, but most of this comes from observation, mimicry, and figuring out sound substitutions (thanks, IPA).

    This was my first time experimenting with a made-up language. There was no script, and the dialogue was improvised, but I’d spent a good deal of time thinking about this character’s history, and the history of the place he was talking about. I’d also decided on the three stories he was going to tell, and had thought about those a lot. It was a weird thing, though, when it came down to actually telling the stories, because obviously I think in English, but I was then trying to translate that into the made-up language that this character theoretically thinks in. So, there was a bit of an unnatural lag which I wasn’t crazy about because it made me sound like the language I was speaking wasn’t my first language, but I did my best to incorporate those pauses into the character. He became someone who chooses his words carefully.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

