The Contest, The Great California Shoot-a-Thon, and King Richard the II

First, something a little different: A CONTEST!

I wanted to give you all first crack at that.  Now, onto the blog entry.  Lots to cover today.

Friends, Fans, Stalkers (you know who you are),

There will be no 50in50 this week, as I’m focusing all of my energy on preparations for my next two big adventures.

Adventure #1:
The Great California Shoot-a-Thon
I’m very excited about this.  One of the things that boosted my Kickstarter campaign over the goal line was Mr. Bill Pullman agreeing to do an episode of 50in50, should it get funded.  He and I tried to shoot an episode back in December when he was in New York (doing Oleanna on Broadway), but it didn’t quite come together.  This meant that we had to go with the backup plan: I go to him in L.A.  Frankly, I’d been looking for an excuse to get out to L.A. and visit some friends, and I was very happy to get it.

Then I started thinking about all of the ideas I’d had for episodes in various California locations, and with various California friends, and it seemed silly to just fly out to shoot a single episode.  So, I’m doing the opposite of that:

I’m going to try to shoot as many episodes as humanly possible in a three week window (roughly).  That’s the plan, and obviously, there’s a lot of prep work that goes into pulling something like that off.  Writing, phone calling, logistic out-figuring, etc.  So that’s what I’m doing this week, or half of what I’m doing this week…

Adventure #2:
King Richard the II
More exciting stuff.  I was recently cast in Matchbook Productions’ upcoming production of Richard the II, by some guy named Shakespeare.  It just so happens that Richard II is one of my very favorites of all Shakespeare’s works, and it also just so happens that Matchbook Productions is composed of some of my very favorite people.  When I first got the offer, I worried about how it would effect 50in50, and I still do a bit, because it’s a massive play (and will incorporate a lot of aerial work) and we have a very short rehearsal period.  The more I thought about it, though, it was just too sweet of a thing to pass up.  So, I’m doing it.

We have our first read-thru on Friday for the company that’s co-producing it (Sonnet Rep), and I want to be prepared so I don’t get fired before this thing kicks off.  That’s the other half of what I’m doing this week.

What I’m hoping will happen is that I’ll come back from CA with so much footage, that I won’t have to worry about shooting much during the rehearsal process when I get back.  I can just edit, and work on the play, and… I don’t know, panhandle for rent money or something.

SO, that’s what’s happening.  I leave for California on Tuesday.  My amazing friend Katrina is lending me her car so I can drive all over the state.  Amazing.  I’m planning on sleeping in couches, cars, and tents (and even a bed, once or twice, when I’m home with family in the Bay Area).  I’m not planning on resting much, and I AM planning on having an amazing time.  I’ll be sending updates from the road.

In the meantime, here’s a couple fun things for you:

A couple months ago I was trying to get seen for a pilot of a new sketch comedy series on Fox called “Naked But Funny,” so I cut this together:

I didn’t end up getting seen, but I heard back from the casting director that most of the cast had been filled from L.A. already, and that they were just looking for people of color now.  What, pink isn’t a color?

The other morsel I have for you is a little something old mixed with a little something new.  Episode 15: Me and My Penis Pump, has thus far been my most popular 50in50 episode.  I’m pretty sure it’s just because it has the word penis in the title.  Regardless, my good friend Petur Magnussen (whom you may remember from Episode 22: Classic) happens to be a talented drummer, and he decided to lay down a drum track for the song.  So here, now, is Me and My Penis Pump, mit drums:

I like it much better this way.

Actually, as long as I’m posting stuff, you should really check out this video Petur made.  It really is one of my all-time favorite YouTube videos, ever.  So funny and original.

That’s it for now.  More updates soon.  Good night, and good luck.

-BR  3.4.10  2.01am

~ by 50in50 on March 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

