Week 35: The Disease Collectors

First off, thank you to the lovely and talented Mr. Karl Hanover for playing Verne, and the at least as lovely/talented Ms. Lauren Bloom for voicing Ms. Tourettes/Emphysema.

So, I’m not exactly sure where I got this idea.  Probably I was sick, enjoying someone fussing over me, and I wondered, “What if I’d gotten sick on purpose, just so I could be fussed over.”  That’s just a guess.  I’ve got a Google Document that serves as my Vault o’ Ideas, and this was one from there, but I don’t recall putting it in.  I wrote this script late last year for a “Writing for SNL” class I was taking at The PIT (which was a good class, by the way.  Actually, all of the classes I’ve taken at The PIT have been good).  The goal of that class is to come up with a 2-4 sketch packet to submit.  I decided this wasn’t one I wanted for my packet, but it might be fun for 50in50.

Karl Hanover was the only person I wanted for this role.  I just knew he’d be funny, and I didn’t want to do it with anyone else.  Karl was my classmate in grad school.  We did our very first scene together in grad school, and our very last at our final showcase.  I didn’t realize this until I was going through the footage, but I’m almost certain that I’ve acted more with Karl than I have with anyone else.  We did a ton of shows together, a ton of class work together, and I even got him to play my yoga teacher back when I did The Leif Garrison Project:


(wow, I would have cut that so differently now…)

Put simply I’m more comfortable acting with Karl than anyone else in the world.  It’s easy like Sunday morning.  He’s a terrific actor, does Shakespeare better than damn near anyone, and if you live in the Bay Area (where he’s recently relocated) I hope you get a chance to see him on stage.  You’ll be better for it.

But don’t tell him I said anything nice about him.

So, I’d like to be honest about this episode, if I may.  May I?  Good.  In retrospect, I think I wouldn’t have done it as a talk show.  The talk show idea was how I originally conceived of it, and it’s not bad, but looking at it now, I think I could have come up a better delivery device for the premise.  That’s the key, really.  Sketches are like a legal argument.  You say, “I think [insert premise here] is funny,” then the rest of the sketch is how you prove your argument.  Like I said, I don’t think this was bad, but I bet I could have mined more comedy out of delving into their characters more, documentary style, and showing what their lives are like.  “A little less conversation, a little more action,” as The King would say.  Ah well, live at learn.  Maybe someday I’ll do the sequel.

So, what’s happening with 50in50?  I just got back to New York after the Great California Shoot-a-thon.  I had a good time, but I was wrecked by the end of it.  I’d hoped to shoot eight episodes, but ended up only getting six.  Still not bad for three weeks.

Rehearsals start for Richard II next week, and it’ll be interesting to see how I balance that, 50in50, and paying the rent.  We shall see what happens.

Hmm.  It’s 2am, I’ve been exporting for two hours, and I still have two hours to go.  I put some funky filters on this episode to make it look more like crappy TV (though if I’d been thinking ahead, I’d have shot it in 4:3, rather than 16:9), and I’m squishing it from 1080 to 720, so Compressor is huffing and puffing a bit.  Anyone wanna lend me a Mac Pro tower for the rest of 50in50?  Seriously.  I’ll be your best friend.

Last bit of news: a really nice article about 50in50 came out this week in Backstage Magazine.  Here’s the link, if you’re interested.

More fun soon,

BR  4.9.10  2.11am

~ by 50in50 on April 9, 2010.

4 Responses to “Week 35: The Disease Collectors”

  1. A Backstage Magazine feature? How great! Where’s the link?

  2. I love this video! I think the talk show was a good device to use actually. This one really made me laugh out loud. Good job!

  3. You and all of your work is highly underrated. I love all of your work.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

