Episode 10: A Message from Coz Kneale

(For a better viewing experience click on the HQ button once the video starts.  Everything is more fun in full-screen mode…)

[First off big thank you to Michael Strong in Salt Lake City for clicking the Donate button last week and lending financial support to 50in50.  If I end up flat broke, at least I'll have cash to buy video tapes and keep going with this.]

This episode ended up slightly soured for me due to some major technical/software problems.  Without boring you with the details, I will simply say that iMovie is a steaming P.O.S. that made my work incredibly arduous for the past few days, and I will never, ever use it again.  Heed these words.

For this character, I did a lot of research on a certain condition or problem — can you guess what it was?  (There is a visual hint in the video.)  Ten points to the first person who gets it.  For this one I went back to writing a character bio first (after I’d done research on the mystery condition/problem).  That gave me ideas for what the episode would be about, and then I wrote it out from there (which made editing SOOO much easier).  This episode is already more than a day late (again, thanks to iMovie), and I’m eager to get it out, so I’m not going to say much more right now.

I will say, YAY EPISODE TEN!!  I made it to double-digits!  Feels like a little bit of an accomplishment.  Then, though, I realize that means that I’m only 1/5 of the way done.  Man, oh, man.  It feels slightly better, though, if I say “I’m 20% done.”  20% just feels bigger than 1/5.  Regardless, your support, encouragement, comments, and emails over the past couple months have really meant a lot.  Thank you very, very much for that.

And now that we’re at episode ten, I have a question for you.  I’m curious to get your thoughts so far on all of this, so please leave those in the comments, but specifically regarding these blog entries, I was hoping you’d take a second and click this quick, one-question poll, and let me know what you think.


I'm not making any solid promises that I'll change anything based on the results, but if there's a landslide in one direction or another I'll certainly take note of it.

In other news, I've got a big ball up in the air right now that has the potential to majorly affect the next three months of my life.  I'm not sure which side of the fence it's going to land on, but I'll let you know when I do.

See you next week.

-B  6.4.09  11.07am

P.S.  My apologies for the tardiness of this episode.  I certainly hope it won't happen again.

P.P.S.  iMovie can bite me.

~ by 50in50 on June 4, 2009.

11 Responses to “Episode 10: A Message from Coz Kneale”

  1. “Get on your bike and run as fast as you can.” I Windexed my monitor with Mountain Dew when I read that line. Thank you.

  2. Very creepy. Intense. What is paranoid schizophrenia? Do I get 10 points?

    • Oooh, I’ll give you four-points for that, because yes, he certainly is paranoid, but I’m looking for something else. Perhaps something that may have CAUSED the paranoia…

  3. Meth is the problem…now give me my points!

  4. as soon as you said look for something, I re ran it and almost immediately saw the “ingredients” in the background. Just for future reference on a meth addict
    1) they don’t have pretty teeth like you ;)
    2) he would probably be sweating and his eyes more shifty
    3) clenched jaw/grinding teeth
    4) zits
    5) a detail that would be helpful..remember in HS when we used to all put our thumbs through our sweat shirts? well I find when I treat paranoid meth patients they chew threw their sweatshirt sleves…

    more FYI, just to show off…the paranoia that comes with meth addiction is associated with the chemical imbalance of dopamine that doing meth (or cocaine or any stimulant) causes. If the person has a relatively healthy brain and hasn’t been using non stop or used something really tainted then most likely the paranoia will go away once the meth stops and the chemical imbalance is corrected. But if done for too long the damage can become permanent.

    • Annnnnnnnd TEN POINTS FOR SHAWNA! Plus two for extra credit!

      And yes, one of the things that annoys me about this episode is that I didn’t take some more time and do the makeup. I’d wanted to do a bunch of blemishes and brown my teeth, but I just ran out of time. Wish I’d just done did it. The sweatshirt thing would have been great, as would the other stuff.

      Glad I know who to go to for info next time I’m playing a druggie. =)

  5. drugs and PTSD are where I have most of my clinical training and any very severe mental health problem (bipolar, schizophrenia, psychotic disorders in general)…now i’m working on more feminist and women’s issues (with my dissertation) but please, any time you want to do a mental health issue email me or message me on FB…very good btw!

  6. Nicely played — this character reminded me of Brad Pitt from 12 Monkeys, only w/ a better 6-pack. Altogether, very well-written.

    Los Angeles is watching you, so keep on groovin’!

  7. Get on your bike and just run :) Did you mean ride? Nope you meant run :) We’re amassing a long list of the subtler zingers, go go go….

  8. whoa, go shawna.

    you asked for some feedback? i have liked some episodes much more than others, but i deeply respect the range of methods you’re trying out, and i love love love hearing about the process in the written part of the project. it seems like you’re learning an unbelievably valuable lesson from each episode, and that’s making you grow and improve so much. so courage! keep on keeping on! etc. etc. love m

  9. If Jeffrey Goines were from Appalachia, this would be it. Hi-larious. I should also mention that I found my disbelief successfully suspended for most of this episode – something hard to do when you know the performer’s face and voice. Well played!

    This could also pass for paranoid schizophrenia… which is where long-term meth users often end up.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

