Failure to Comply

Yeah.  Sad, isn’t it?

I’ve been trying to focus on this play for the last week or so, which is good.  Which I need to be doing.  The result?  50in50 has suffered.  I don’t like to admit it, but it has.  At no time is that better evidenced than tonight.  I have a full episode all shot.  I shot it last week, actually.  It’s a big, complicated edit, though, and I just haven’t been able to justify spending hours on that when I NEED to be spending more time (more time than I already am) working on my part in this play.  I think it’s going to be good, but it needs work… and I really need to buckle down.  That and I’m trying to get some writings in for a 2nd submission packet for SNL, and that needs to happen fast.

I would have come out okay tonight, except that my battery pack lied to me.  I went out to do a night shoot, one-take, go-for-broke type of thing.  My battery meter said it was half-full.  Perfect.  We got there, started shooting, and in the middle of the first take, it died.  Completely died.  I’m not going to lie to you, I was a pretty despondent motherfucker for a minute there.  I kind of felt like that was my last chance to save face on this week’s episode, and fulfill my promise to myself, and poof, up in smoke because I didn’t have enough battery.  Heartbreaking.

Right now, I’m not quite sure what I’m going to do.  I’ll probably just delay it a day.  Or maybe I’ll just post what I shot before it died on me… no, probably not.  If I do it, I want to do it right.

There will be an entry coming soon about all this, cheating on myself, with myself.  Robbing time from one project to work on another (and shorting others still).  It’s maddening.

Anyway, goodnight for now.

-BR  7.24.09  1.09am

~ by 50in50 on July 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
