Week 21: The Last Words of Ed Byron

(For a better viewing experience click on the HQ button once the video starts.  Everything is more fun in full-screen mode…)


A lot of bad news was going around last week.  I don’t know what was happening in the universe, but I heard about more deaths and diseases amongst family and friends’ family last week than any other week of my life.  This got me thinking about mortality, which got me thinking about my will.  I’ve always thought I should have a video will, which I would want played after I died.  That train of thought led me to the question, “What would be the worst thing someone could say in their video will?”  I started to jot things down.  Horrible things.  This led to the question, “WHO could say and do these horrible things?”  That’s how I created Ed Byron.  Once I had set a few of his horrible deeds, that informed the character, which in turn informed more horrible deeds, and so on.  This is a good trick to remember while creating a character (and while living your life): More than anything else, it is our deeds and actions which define us.

Note: I do not advocate using the word “Chinaman”.  I hate that word.  Ed Byron, however, is a prick.  Just want to make that clear.

I’m keeping this entry short, but I’ve got another one (blog entry) coming in a few days, about “Acting School Mentality”.  I hope you’ll come back and check that one out.

See you next week.

-BR  8.21.09  5.25am

UPDATE: I forgot to mention that the funeral section of this video was based in part on a piece I wrote several years ago called “Post-Death Event Planning”.  You can check it out at my olde blog: http://brentrose.blogspot.com/2007/09/post-death-event-planning.html

~ by 50in50 on August 21, 2009.

7 Responses to “Week 21: The Last Words of Ed Byron”

  1. Wow, what a dick. Nice work, B!

  2. I again find myself disturbed by both the assholishness of this man and the fact that I somehow still manage to find him sickeningly attractive. Disturbing as the hanger reference…

    Well done!

  3. dear dead ed,

    you were a cock.

    signed,

    bay

  4. Great concept! Very well-written.

  5. I don’t know how I missed this one. Effing hilarious. He started out as a slightly crueler Royal Tenenbaum and evolved into the worst human being ever. Excellent work. Are you taking shots of iced tea?

  6. Just my freaking luck. Thanks, Brent, I’ll never google myself again. -Ed Byron (really)

    • Oh Ed. I am so, so sorry. Should any of your friends or family see this, I promise that it was a name I chose entirely at random, and bears no reflection to the real Ed (or so I hope).

      Cheers,

      BR

Leave a Reply

 
