I Need Your Help

kickstarter card

Dear Viewers/Readers/Fans/Friends,

“I need your help” is something that’s very hard to say, but I’m saying it.

You may have noticed that there hasn’t been many new posts 50 Characters in 50 Weeks recently.  The reason is that I’m not sure I’m going to be able to continue it.  When I was trying to do the project and working full-time I drove my health into the ground (on average, episodes take about 20-30 hours a week to make, and the more detailed ones are always at the top end of that spectrum–some have taken 40 hours).  There is a MAJOR glimmer of hope, though.  I have been invited to try to fund my project through a website called Kickstarter.com

Kickstarter is “micro financing”.  Essentially, artists post a project proposal, and then people from all around the world can pledge to fund it.  They can pledge as much or as little as they want, and there are BACKER REWARDS for each level.  For example, if someone pledges $5 they get their name on the website, exclusive updates, and a limited edition 50in50 thank you card.  If they pledge $10, they get all that plus a pin of their favorite character.  If they do $25 they get all of that PLUS a full-resolution DVD of their five favorite episodes.  The list goes on.  It ends up being a really cool thing for the artists and for the people who fund it, because then they really become a part of the project and become invested in its success.

If you pledge, that’s great, and I’ll be extremely grateful, but I have a bigger favor to ask.  I want to ask for a little bit of your time.  If everyone who reads this would take just a few minutes, and write an email to as many of their friends as possible (and encourage them to do the same), there is a very real chance that we might be able to pull this off.  I know you’re all busy people, and I know we all have many projects going on, but this is one of those things that would mean the world to me, and good karma will find it’s way back to you.

Here is the link to the Kickstarter page for my project:
http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/brentrose/50-characters-in-50-weeks

Email is the best way, because it’s personal, and it’s from you, directly to them, but in addition to that at the Kickstarter page you will find links so you can help get the word out on Facebook, Digg, Twitter, Myspace, Delicious, and others.  And please, encourage your friends to do the same.  You can ever get the widget above to put on your blog!

Here is the critical element: I only have six weeks, and it’s all or nothing. I have got to get at least $10,000 worth of pledges by November 6th, or I get none of it.  I know that sounds like a ton of money, but many projects (that were trying to accomplish much less) have raised a lot more money than that through Kickstarter.  And think about it: that money divided over 25 short-films would just be 400 bucks per film (which is practically unheard of for something high quality).  The money would allow me to upgrade some of my equipment, which would make the episodes look/sound better, but would also cut out about two hours of my edit time each week.  Most importantly, though, if the funding comes through, it will allow me to really put my all into each episode.  It would be enough so that I would be able to work part-time, instead of full-time, so I could give each episode the time it needs without killing myself.  I’m not asking people to fund a vacation — I’m asking them to fund the project, which is the most massive endeavor I’ve ever undertaken.

Another key point: the all or nothing nature of it means that if you pledge $25, and I don’t make it to my goal before the deadline, you don’t pay a dime. Pledges are only fulfilled IF the project meets its goal, so you don’t have to pay now and worry that some company is just going to take your money.  No money will be deducted until Nov. 6th, and that’s only if the goal is reached (or exceeded… which would be even better, obviously).  Also, the money is all handled by Amazon.com, so you know it’s safe and secure.

So, that’s it, my pitch to you, and my humble request for your help.  Will you please consider emailing your friends and family?  I’ve set up some really great backer rewards, I think (and if you have suggestions for more/better rewards, please let me know.  I can always include more.).  The cool thing about it is that if this succeeds, then it really isn’t my project, but it’s OUR project.  Even people who donate just $5 are producers, and it adds up.  You aren’t asking your friends for a huge sum of money, that’s the beauty of Kickstarter–many projects have successfully reached their goals without large donations.

This project is about people, in all their many and varied flavors, so it’s only fitting that it should be funded by many and varied people.  It’s a tall order, but together, it’s absolutely possible if we just try.

The link, again, to the Kickstarter page is:
http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/brentrose/50-characters-in-50-weeks

In your email if you want to send your friends the videos, here is a link to the All Videos page:
https://50in50.wordpress.com/all-videos/

And here’s a link to some of the press that the project has received:
https://50in50.wordpress.com/press/

So, for the next six weeks, there probably won’t be much in the way of new videos as I’m going to be working a job-job and trying to get as many backers as humanly possible (with your help, I hope).  With some luck, and with the help from my friends, and their friends, (and hopefully their friends’ friends), 50in50 will be back and better than ever before.  This will also create more work, for more actors, as the scope of the show grows, so it really will be good for the artist community as a whole (actor friends: I may well come asking you to be in an episode that would be great for your reel).  I’m sure I’ll be writing more in the coming weeks to update you on the progress.

Again, it’s so hard to ask for this kind of help.  Thank you for listening, and thank you even more if you write an email and help get the word out.  It would mean so much to me.

Much love, and much thanks,

Brent

~ by 50in50 on September 25, 2009.

4 Responses to “I Need Your Help”

  1. hey brent,
    I’ve been following your project from the beginning and I truly admire your strength and persistence in dedicating your time and energy to this. as a fellow actor and artist, I am grateful for people like you believing in the wisdom of “just doing it”, keep the faith, man. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for the kickstarter funding.
    martin.

  2. […] Brent Rose steht gerade vor der schwierigen Situation sein Projekt „50in50“ abzubrechen. In einem detaillierten Bericht schreibt er über den Zeitaufwand und Herausforderungen, stellt aber auch eine Möglichkeit vor, wie das […]

  3. Greetings! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when browsing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to correct this issue.

    If you have any suggestions, please share. Thanks!

  4. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment
    but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that
    over again. Anyways, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

 
