Week 27: Nasal Retentive

[First off, big thanks to extremely talented Danielle Slavick for playing Claire, and for somehow tolerating this kind of thing.  Huge thanks, also, to the equally talented C. Bay Milin for shooting the majority of this footage with his amazing photographic eye (check out his work).  And, once again, to Mr. Kevin MacLeod of Incomptech for composing and recording the song, and for putting it online, royalty free!  Very few people are doing that these days, and his site really is a tremendous resource for the budget filmmaker (slide him a few bucks if you use one of his songs, if you can).]

So, what can I tell you about this one?  I honestly don’t remember how I came up with the concept.  Weird dream?  I don’t know.  I’m pretty sure it started simply as a guy who found noses and all things nasal incredibly erotic.  I’ve never seen noses as being particularly sexy, so that seemed like a fun place to start.  For some reason I saw it in black and white.  That got me thinking about all those Calvin Klein commercials from the 90’s (Obsession, etc.), and then I thought, maybe it could be an extended CK commercial for a fake product (those commercials really weren’t much less weird than this video).

Using Danielle for this was a no-brainer.  We went to grad school together, and not only is she a super talented actor, she’s one of my closest friends.  That said, it doesn’t matter how chummy you are with a person when you’re doing a nose-69, it just might break your mind.  That has got to be one of the weirdest things I’ve ever done as an actor… or at least in the top twenty.  Anyway, ‘yell rocked it, and she’s still my friend, so hooray on all fronts.

Great to have Bay back behind the lens again.  Aside from being just so damn good at framing those shots, he is well versed in lighting and old-school black-and-white photography.  You can’t view the footage in black-and-white on my camera (as far as I know), so it put me at ease knowing that he knows how to translate color images into black-and-white in his head.

What else?  This was a pretty nasty little edit.  I was having a hard time with it for a while, because I just didn’t have a sense of how it flowed.  I’d planned on finding music for it later, but I realized that I needed to go and find a song right at the beginning.  It took hours, but I finally found the one I was looking for (a techno riff on Beethoven called “Variation on Egmont” by Kevin MacLeod).  Things started falling into place after that, but there was a ton of great footage we’d shot, so I had to kill more than a few babies.  It ended up needing a lot of little detail work, too (LOTS of audio tweaks, slow motion, disolves, and blah blah blah.  Essentially, I’m sleepy, is what I’m saying).  Anyway, here’s an image of my finished timeline, if you’re interested:

Timeline for episode 27

Click for full-size image

Anyway, it’s time for me to get some much needed sleep.  I don’t think I’ll be putting up a new video next week, as I’m scheduled to shoot/cut a promo video for Oxen Workwear (one of my Kickstarter sponsors), but I’ll have something for you to snack on, so keep checking back.  As always, one of the biggest things you can do to help this project out is to tell people about it. Friends, family, co-workers, reporters, and keep checking back your own self.

More soon,

Brent  1.22.10  5.17am

~ by 50in50 on January 22, 2010.

4 Responses to “Week 27: Nasal Retentive”

  1. You’ve done it again Brent – love it! Props to Danielle too (ewwww)!

  2. Hillarious

  3. That one was a real good one! Watching it the third time now. The editing looks complicated to me. Come over to Japan, we gonna do one episode here ;-)

  4. I don’t know what the above commenter wrote, but I agree.

Leave a Reply

 
