Week 29: The Missed Connection

[First off, big thanks to Michael Fulvio and Dylan Ricards for manning the cameras on this one.  Giant thanks, too, to Ms. Melissa Center, who played Daphna.]

I don’t really feel like saying too much about this one.  I acknowledge that it’s longer and slower than any of my previous 50in50’s.  It bothered me for a little while, and then I said, “You know what?  Some stories just take longer to tell.”  That’s what I choose to believe.

This one is kind of based around the idea that it’s what we do that defines our character.  In this case, I wondered what kind of person would answer a “Missed Connections” ad on Craigslist, even though they aren’t the person that the ad poster had met/seen/etc.  It would have been really easy to make him a jerk, but I wanted to find something more interesting than that.

The story of how Melissa Center got roped into this is an interesting one.  Melissa has her own, currently running webshow which is based upon Craigslist’s Missed Connections called Missed Connections Live.  Every episode she takes an actual Missed Connections posting, and turns it into a character monologue.  When the GigaOm Network’s Liz Shannon Miller reviewed her show, she mentioned 50in50, citing some similarities.  Melissa watched a few episodes and thought I looked familiar.  Turns out we went to a theatre camp at Northwestern together back in the summer of ’97.  Small friggin’ world.  Anyway, we caught up, and since I was already hatching this idea, and she was doing something so closely related (and doing it so well), I asked her if she’d be in it.  The rest, as they say, is history.  Actually, this episode is meant to be a co-production of sorts.  Check out Melissa’s show here: http://missedconnectionslive.com

Had some technical difficulties, albeit fairly minor ones.  They all resulted from switches being accidentally bumped on the camera.  Anybody notice the graininess?  Hope not.  I became obsessed.  When you accidentally turn up the gain on the camera there ain’t much you can do in post.  The other error was a white balance problem that occurred in just a few shots before we caught it.  In a weird way, though, this was a blessing in disguise because it forced me to learn how to use the 3-way Color Corrector in Final Cut, and MAN is that a powerful little tool!  If anybody out there is actually reading this blog entries because they’re interested in the technical side of things (anybody?), I’ve got a FANTASTIC resource for you.  Creative Cow has a ton of How To podcasts for Final Cut Pro, and they are bacon savers: http://podcasts.creativecow.net/final-cut-studio-podcast Thank you Mr. Richard Harrington.

Alright, that’s it for this week.  I’ve got an audition next week that I need to spend some time getting ready for (daddy’s gotta pay the rent), but I’m hoping to come up with a east-to-cut 50in50 that I can do.  We shall see.  Keep checking back, and I’ll keep you looped.

Much love,

Brent  2.12.10  3.06am

P.S.  Happy Valentine’s Day, you sexy bitches.

~ by 50in50 on February 12, 2010.

3 Responses to “Week 29: The Missed Connection”

  1. One of my new favorites!

  2. nicely done

  3. it’s rare that I tilt my head back, laugh out loud, clap my hands, and say, “I gotta blog this,” so when i do i gotta comment on the hottie who made it. KUDOS!
    please keep it up. please. restart. i’ll pay you :-)

Leave a Reply

 
