Week 31: Tommy’s Secret

Warning: Do not watch this video if you are offended by very, very bad language.  Seriously, your ears will burst into flames.

So, this was a fun one to do.  My girlfriend and I went on a little weekend getaway with a couple other couples a couple weeks ago (that’s a lot of couples).  We rented a cheap lil’ place in the Pokinos, and had a nice time.  I’ve been pretty focused on 50in50 lately, though, so I couldn’t let an opportunity to shoot in a new and interesting location go by.  That’s where I shot last week’s episode as well, which is one I really liked.  Big thanks to Kathleen, Eli, Jillian, Dan, and of course, Stef for such a great trip, and for putting up with me running around and shooting while everyone else was packing up to go.

Doing an episode that starts with a location as is a bit like working backwards, but as long as you do all the work you need to do, I don’t think it matters in what order you do it.  I knew there was going to be a hottub and a fireplace, so I decided this was a rich guy.  As always, it’s all about asking the right questions, and finding answers that are fun. In this case it was, “How did he get rich?”  For whatever reason, the first thing I though of was, “by fucking people over”.  Everything else just sort of came together really quickly after that.  Well, sort of.

Most of what I shot at the place in the Pokinos was improvised, but I only shot about half of what I needed.  The task then became to go through the footage, see what I still needed, and then shoot some stuff to fill it in and string it all together.  Again, that’s a bit like working backwards, but hey, it’s where you end up that counts.  Also, in case you were wondering, that’s not my mansion, unfortunately.  It’s in Prospect Park in Brooklyn.  Prospect Park is easily my favorite place in New York.  I film there as much as I can.  Love it.

So, that’s that episode.

I’ve got something coming up that I’m very excited about.  I’ve begun preparations for what I am calling The Great California Shoot-a-thon!  I’ll be out in CA for a few weeks or so, and I’m planning on running around all over the state and shooting as many 50in50 episodes as humanly possible.  It’s a daunting task, but I’m really excited about this new added challenge.  I think it’s going to be fun to “go mobile” and produce a bunch of stuff on the road.  If everything goes according to plan (ha ha, yeah, right) I’ll be shooting ’em faster than I can release ’em.  Lots of planning to be done, but I’m excited about it.  More details to come.

Cheers,

BR

2.26.10  7.44pm

~ by 50in50 on February 25, 2010.

2 Responses to “Week 31: Tommy’s Secret”

  1. Ha ha ha ha ha! I love it!

  2. That was bloody brilliant, Brent! It was definitely one of my favorite (if not the favorite) videos that you have done thus far. You totally captured the essence of the all-around sleaze and manipulative atmosphere around all of those late night product infomercials that we all have had to endure late at night when we are looking for something watchable on the telly. Well done!

Leave a Reply

 
